What Else Happened in May 2020

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea: Nomination of Arbitrators

On 13 May 2020, Germany nominated four new arbitrators and conciliators under Annex VII and Annex V of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, respectively.

All four are academics:

  • Rüdiger Wolfrum, Heidelberg University,  who served as a judge at the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea from 1996 to 2017 and as president of the court from 2005 to 2008;
  • Silja Vöneky, Freiburg University, who obtained her doctoral and post-doc qualifiactions in Heidelberg under the supervision of Rüdiger Wolfrum;
  • Alexander Proelß, Hamburg University, who in addition to various academic positions, was a clerk  (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter) to Judge Udo Di Fabio at the Federal Constututional Court (Bundesverfassungsgericht).
  • Nele Matz-Lück, Kiel University, who also was Wolfrum’s doctoral student and worked with him a  post-doc. Like Alexander Proelß, she clerked for Udo di Fabio.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six + 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.